Unit 1. Dreamweaver MX 2004 Basics (II)


Starting and closing Dreamweaver MX 2004

Let us look at the two basic ways to start Dreamweaver MX 2004.


From the Start button normally located in the bottom left corner of the screen. Place the cursor on the Start button and click, the start menu will open next, position the cursor over All Programs, another list will then appear with the programmess that there are installed in your computer, look for Macromedia, next select Macromedia Dreamweaver MX 2004, and the program will be opened.

From the shortcut of Dreamweaver MX 2004 on the desktop .

You can now start Dreamweaver MX 2004 to explore everything what we explained to you. When you perform the exercises you can also arrange two sessions the way we have explained to you here.

To close Dreamweaver MX 2004, you can use anyone of the following actions:

 

Click on the close button .  

Press the combination of keys ALT+F4.

Click on the File menu and then select the Exit option.

If a modified document exists that has not been saved before closing Dreamweaver, confirmation will be requested to save, or not to save each inividual one.

Opening and saving documents

 

In order to open a document, you can use any one of the following actions:

Click in the open button of the standard toolbar.

Press the combination of Ctrl+O keys.

Click on the File menu and select the Open option.

Double-click on the file in the window of the site.

 

In order to open a new document, you can use anyone of the following actions:

Click on the new button of the standard toolbar.

Press the combination of keys Ctrl+N.

Click on the File menu and select New...

Double-click on the file in the window of the site.

After this a new window will appear, where you will have to choose the Category Basic Page, HTML.

In order to save a document, you can use anyone of the following actions:.

Click on the save button of the standard toolbar.

Press the combination of keys Ctrl+S.

Click on the File menu and select Save.

Dreamweaver includes the possibility to save multiple documents, without the necessity to do it one by one. In order to save all you can make anyone of the following actions:

Click on the save all button of the standard toolbar.

Click on the File menu and select Save All.

When we have several open documents it's easy to forget all the modifications done in each one of them. You must take care when using the Save all option, since sometimes it's possible not to wish to keep the changes in all modified documents. For that reason is advisable that at least you don't use this option in the beginning, until you have become more experienced in handling the program.



  Go to the previous page page Content  Go to the nex page  

Page 1.2

Legal warning: Authorised on-line use only. It is not allowed the use of these courses in companies or private teaching centres.
aulaClic. All rights reserved. Reproduction in any form whatsoever is prohibited.
November-2005.