Unit 6. Relationships (II)


Adding tables to the Relationships window

 

If we have already created a relationship and want to create another but the table is not ready in the Relationships window we need to add the table to the window.

Firstly we situate ourself in the Relationships window by clicking on the button on the toolbar.

To add the table we can choose between:

Click on the Show table button

or,

Select Show table... in the Relationships menu

The Show tables dialogue box will appear as studied in this unit.

Add the necessary tables.

Close the dialogue box.

Removing tables from the Relationship window.

 

If we choose to eliminate a table from the Relationship window:

Firstly we situate ourself in the Relationships window by clicking on the button on the taskbar.

Then we can choose between:

Right clic over the table and select the Hide Table option from the contextual menu that appears,

 

Click on the table to select it, and in the Relationships menu select Hide Table....

It will disappear from the window together with all relationships associated with it, but it still exists in the database, the tables remains related.

 

Edit relationships.

 

To edit already created relationships:

Situate yourself in the Relationship window and choose between these three ways:

Right clic the relationship to edit and select the Edit relationship option from the contextual menu that appears,

or,

Click on the relationship to edit and select Edit Relationship... from the Relationships menu.

Double-click on the relationship.

The Edit relationships dialogue box will open as studied previousely.

Carry out the desired changes.

Click on the OK button.

 

Deleting relationships.

 

If we want to delete a relationship we can:

right click on the relationship we wish to delete and select the Delete option from the contextual menu,
or,

Click on the relationship we wish to delete and select the Delete option from the Edit menu.

or,

Click on the relationship so that it remains selected and next press the Del key.

The relationship will have been deleted from the window and the database.

 

To practise any of these operations you can perform the Step by step Exercise Editing relationships.

 



 

Page. 6.2

Legal warning: Authorised on-line use only. It is not allowed the use of these courses in companies or private teaching centres.
© aulaClic. All rights reserved. Reproduction in any form whatsoever is prohibited. April-2006.